SacramentsIn Christian belief and practice, a sacrament is a rite, instituted by Christ that mediates grace, constituting a sacred mystery. The term is derived from the Latin word sacramental, which was used to translate the Greek word for mystery. Views concerning both what rites are sacramental and what it means for an act to be a sacrament vary among Christian denominations and traditions.
The most conventional functional definition of a sacrament is that it is an outward sign, instituted by Christ that conveys an inward, spiritual grace through Christ. The two most widely accepted sacraments are Baptism and the Eucharist; however, the majority of Christians recognize seven Sacraments or Divine Mysteries:

1. Baptism
2. Confirmation
3. Eucharist
4. Holy Orders
5. Reconciliation of a Penitent (confession)
6. Anointing of the Sick
7. Matrimony.

These are the Seven Sacraments as recognized by churches in the High church tradition - notably Roman Catholic, Eastern Orthodox, Oriental Orthodox, Independent Catholic, Old Catholic and some Anglicans.

Related Links

More Services