Objectives Of Human Life

Objectives Of Human LifeClassical Hindu thought accepts the following objectives of human life, known as the purusarthas: dharma "righteousness, ethikos", artha "livelihood, wealth", kāma "sensual pleasure", moksha "liberation, freedom from samsara".

In whatever way a Hindu defines the goal of life, there are several methods (yogas) that sages have taught for reaching that goal. Texts dedicated to Yoga include the Bhagavad Gita, the Yoga Sutras, the Hatha Yoga Pradipika, and, as their philosophical and historical basis, the Upanishads. Paths one can follow to achieve the spiritual goal of life are-
1. Bhakti Yoga -the path of love and devotion
2. Karma Yoga -the path of right action
3. Raja Yoga -the path of meditation
4. Jnana Yoga -the path of wisdom
An individual may prefer one or some yogas over others, according to inclination and understanding. Practice of one yoga does not exclude others. Many schools believe that the different yogas naturally blend into and aid other yogas.

Related Links

More Services