Hinduism's Varnas

VarnasHindu society has traditionally been categorized into four classes, called Varnas
1. the Brahmins- teachers and priests;
2. the Kshatriyas- warriors, nobles, and kings;
3. the Vaishyas- farmers, merchants, and businessmen; and
4. the Shudras- servants and labourers.

Hindus and scholars debate whether the caste system is an integral part of Hinduism sanctioned by the scriptures or an outdated social custom. Scriptures contain passages that clearly sanction the Varna system. The oldest scriptures, the Vedas, strongly sustain the division of society into four classes (varna) but place little emphasis on the caste system, showing that each individual should find his strengths through different ways such as his astrological signs, actions, personality, and appearance, and do his job for the good of that individual as well as society. Being casted into a class because of what parents he was born from was a political problem and not from the actual science of the religion.
In the Vedic Era, there was no prohibition against the Shudras listening to the Vedas or participating in any religious rite, as was the case in the later times. Some mobility and flexibility within the varnas challenge allegations of social discrimination in the caste system, as has been pointed out by several sociologists.

Related Links

More Services