Jainism : Jain monks and nuns

JainismJain monks and nuns
In India there are thousands of Jain Monks, in categories like Acharya, Upadhyaya and Muni. Trainee ascetics are known as Ailaka and Ksullaka in the Digambar tradition.
There are two categories of ascetics, Sadhu (monk) and Sadhvi (nun). They practice the five Mahavratas, three Guptis and five Samitis.

Five Mahavratas
1. Ahimsa: Non-violence in thought, word and deed
2. Satya: Truth which is beneficial, succinct and pleasing
3. Acaurya: Not accepting anything that has not been given to them by the owner
4. Brahmacarya: Absolute purity of mind and body
5. Aparigraha: Non-attachment to non-self objects
Three Guptis
1. Managupti: Control of the mind
2. Vacanagupti: Control of speech
3. Kayagupti: Control of body

Five Samitis
1. Irya Samiti: Carefulness while walking
2. Bhasha Samiti: Carefulness while communicating
3. Eshana Samiti: Carefulness while eating
4. Adana Nikshepana Samiti: Carefulness while handling their fly-whisks, water gourds, etc.
5. Pratishthapana Samiti: Carefulness while disposing of bodily waste matter

Male Digambara monks do not wear any clothes and are nude. They practise non-attachment to the body and hence, wear no clothes. Shvetambara monks and nuns wear white clothes. Shvetambaras believe that monks and nuns may wear simple un-stitched white clothes as long as they are not attached to them. Jain monks and nuns travel on foot. They do not use mechanical transport.
Digambar followers take up to eleven Pratimaye (oath). Monks take all eleven oaths. They eat only once a day. The Male Digambar monk eat standing at one place in their palms without using any utensil.

Related Links


More Services